O'NEILL PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

January 19, 2015

BOARD MEMBERS

Jim Gotschall – President Ellen Boshart – Vice President Delight Becker – Vice President-Elect Amy Rowse – Member Jim Sibbel – Member Tom Stepp – Member **ADMINISTRATORS**

Amy Shane – Superintendent Corey Fisher – High School Principal Dan Woodle – Elementary Principal Nick Hostert – Activities Director Kathy Grossnicklaus – Special Education Director

Board Secretary Kathleen Marvin

Board Treasurer James Rabe

The **regular** meeting of the O'Neill Public School Board of Education was called to order by President Jim Gotschall at 8:04 p.m., on Monday, January 19, 2015 in the meeting room at 410 East Benton, O'Neill, Nebraska. This meeting was advertised in the Holt County Independent on January 15, 2015, over KBRX Radio and posted at the school buildings and the O'Neill Post Office.

Board Secretary Kathy Marvin called the roll with Delight Becker, Ellen Boshart, Jim Gotschall, Amy Rowse, Jim Sibbel, and Tom Stepp present.

Administrators Amy Shane, Corey Fisher, Dan Woodle, and Kathy Grossnicklaus were present. Nick Hostert and Steve Brown, Building and Grounds Director, were absent.

Visitors were welcomed and informed that this meeting was in compliance with the Nebraska Open Meetings Act.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Delight Becker **moved**, **to approve the meeting agenda**. Ellen Boshart **seconded** the motion. Roll call vote **carried** 6-0. Voting Aye: Boshart, Gotschall, Rowse, Sibbel, Stepp, and Becker.

Ellen Boshart moved, to approve the minutes of the December 15, 2014 regular meeting as presented without reading. Delight Becker seconded the motion. Roll call vote carried 6-0. Voting Aye: Gotschall, Rowse, Sibbel, Stepp, Becker, and Boshart.

Oral and Written Communication

Mr. Fisher presented Brandi Mikkelsen with her diploma for completing all of the necessary requirements for Early Graduation. Brandi intends to register for online college classes to further her education while she continues to work.

Oath of Office

Newly elected board members Jim Gotschall, Jim Sibbel, and Tom Stepp were sworn into office by reciting and signing the Oath of Office as administered by Superintendent, Amy Shane.

Negotiations Committee Report

Amy Rowse moved, to approve the Negotiated Agreement for the 2015-2016 school year with the base salary set at \$31,700. Jim Sibbel seconded the motion. Roll call vote carried 6-0. Voting Aye: Rowse, Sibbel, Stepp, Becker, Boshart, and Gotschall.

President Gotschall adjourned the meeting Sine Die for election of officers at 8:19 p.m. The meeting was called back to order by Superintendent Shane at 8:20 p.m. Board members present were Becker, Boshart, Gotschall, Rowse, Sibbel, and Stepp.

Election of Officers

Superintendent Amy Shane called for nominations for President. **Delight Becker nominated Jim Gotschall for President**. Amy Rowse **seconded** the nomination. With no other nominations forthcoming, nominations ceased. Roll call vote for Jim Gotschall for President **carried** 6-0. Voting Aye: Sibbel, Stepp, Becker, Boshart, Gotschall, and Rowse.

President Jim Gotschall called for nominations for Vice President. **Delight Becker nominated Ellen Boshart for Vice President**. Amy Rowse **seconded** the nomination. With no other nominations forthcoming, nominations ceased. Roll call vote for Ellen Boshart for Vice-President **carried** 6-0. Voting Aye: Stepp, Becker, Boshart, Gotschall, Rowse and Sibbel.

President Jim Gotschall called for nominations for Vice President – Elect. **Amy Rowse nominated Delight Becker for Vice President – Elect**. Jim Gotschall **seconded** the nomination. With no other nominations forthcoming, nominations ceased. Roll call vote for Delight Becker for Vice President – Elect **carried** 6-0. Voting Aye: Becker, Boshart, Gotschall, Rowse, Sibbel, and Stepp.

Amy Rowse **moved**, to appoint Jim Rabe as School Board Treasurer. Ellen Boshart seconded the motion. Roll call vote **carried** 6-0. Voting Aye: Boshart, Gotschall, Rowse, Sibbel, Stepp, and Becker.

Amy Rowse **moved**, to appoint Kathy Marvin as School Board Secretary. Delight Becker seconded the motion. Roll call vote **carried** 6-0. Voting Aye: Gotschall, Rowse, Sibbel, Stepp, Becker, and Boshart.

Authorize All Bank Accounts and Check Signers

Ellen Boshart moved, to authorize Amy Shane, Superintendent; Jim Gotschall, Board President; Ellen Boshart Vice President; and Kathy Marvin, Board Secretary; to sign checks for the following accounts: General Fund, Flex Fund, Employee Benefit Fund, Bond Fund, and Building Fund. Delight Becker seconded the motion. Roll call vote carried 6-0. Voting Aye: Rowse, Sibbel, Stepp, Becker, Boshart, and Gotschall.

Amy Rowse moved, to authorize Amy Shane, Superintendent; Jim Gotschall, Board President; and Kathy Marvin, Board Secretary; to sign checks for the Imprest Account. Jim Sibbel seconded the motion. Roll call vote carried 6-0. Voting Aye: Sibbel, Stepp, Becker, Boshart, Gotschall, and Rowse.

Jim Sibbel moved, to authorize Amy Shane, Superintendent; Corey Fisher, Principal; Nick Hostert, Activities Director; and Cheryl Ludwig, Activities Secretary to sign checks for the Activity Account. Delight Becker seconded the motion. Roll call vote carried 6-0. Voting Aye: Stepp, Becker, Boshart, Gotschall, Rowse, and Sibbel.

Contract with Unified District #1 for the 2015-2016 School Year

Amy Rowse moved, to enter into a contract with Nebraska Unified District #1 as presented, for instruction at the Center for Teaching and Learning for the 2015-2016 school year. Ellen Boshart seconded the motion. Roll call vote carried 6-0. Voting Aye: Becker, Boshart, Gotschall, Rowse, Sibbel, and Stepp.

Schedule Upcoming Board Member Retreat

Ellen Boshart moved, to set Tuesday, January 27, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. for the School Board Member Retreat. Amy Rowse seconded the motion. Roll call vote carried 6-0. Voting Aye: Boshart, Gotschall, Rowse, Sibbel, Stepp, and Becker.

Staff Resignation

Ellen Boshart moved, to accept Cindy Seller's letter of resignation effective at the end of the 2014-2015 contract year. Delight Becker seconded the motion. Roll call vote carried 6-0. Voting Aye: Gotschall, Rowse, Sibbel, Stepp, Becker, and Boshart.

Calendar Change

Amy Rowse moved, to amend the school calendar for Friday, February 13th to reflect an 8:00 a.m. regular start time with an early dismissal at 12:00 noon. Jim Sibbel seconded the motion. Roll call vote carried 6-0. Voting Aye: Rowse, Sibbel, Stepp, Becker, Boshart, and Gotschall.

Option Enrollment Report

No action necessary.

Administrative reports were presented and are on file at the administrative office.

Bills and Claims and Payroll Report

Amy Rowse moved, to approve the bills and claims, with the exception of the invoice to Engineered Controls in the amount of \$16,840 until the work has been completed, and accept the payroll report as presented Ellen Boshart seconded the motion. Roll call vote carried 6-0. Voting Aye: Sibbel, Stepp, Becker, Boshart, Gotschall, and Rowse.

Amy Rowse **moved**, to adjourn the meeting. Delight Becker seconded the motion. Roll call vote carried 6-0. Voting Aye: Stepp, Becker, Boshart, Gotschall, Rowse, and Sibbel

Meeting adjourned at 9:24 p.m.

farleen Marvin

Kathleen Marvin School Board Secretary Holt Co. Dist. #7